Paleo Traveler

I used to travel for a living.  On the road, around the world, 200+ days/year.  I was an expert traveler.  I had a system.  I brought snacks, I brought books, I had a cd walkman….oops…ok, now you know how long ago it was.

It’s a whole new world traveling nowadays.  I have a kindle, I have an iphone…how did I ever manage without these things?!?!  And how do I manage now that I am no longer eating gummy bears and pretzels or chips and whatever they serve me on the plane?

Two weekends ago I went to visit friends in FL (hi Steph!).  2 flights and a decent layover.  I left prepared.  I brought hard boiled eggs, apples, berky, almonds, chocolate (cuz a girl needs chocolate on the road), and oodles of larabars…you would think I was going to the other side of the world with all of this!  Needless to say most of it went uneaten.  Every last one of those larabars included.

Next weekend I’m going to AZ…a much shorter flight and now that I’ve had a dry-run I think I have a better handle on what (and how much!) food to pack.  This time I will bring ONE apple and some turkey lettuce wraps for dinner.  I’ll bring ONE paleo kit for the flight home and grab another apple and probably be good to go.

What do you like to bring with you when you travel??

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Drayre
    Aug 02, 2012 @ 17:10:59

    I tend to panic at the thought of packing things for travel. I spend a lot of time thinking about what to bring and then get flustered and buy one item that isn’t all that good and just get on the dang plane. My plan obviously has mixed results. I definitely need to get better at bringing plane or car snacks. Car is definitely easier than flying. I tend to stick with fruit and (now) I would add some jerky for sure but I avoid nuts while flying because invariably someone has a nut allergy. I figure if someone is at risk for anaphylaxis the least I can do is auto-substitute that item from my snacking itinerary.

    Reply

    • alisonreinvented
      Aug 06, 2012 @ 22:16:26

      I hear ya! It’s always a work in progress. Somehow a milky way snuck in my purse :/ Now my stomach hurts. Lesson learned! Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

