I Bet You Would Never Guess This WASN’T Fried Rice

Shrimp Fried “Rice”

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup shredded cauliflower (I used my vitamix to shred)
  • 3 pieces of broccoli – chopped up, no stalk
  • 1 sliced green onion
  • 1/2 lb shrimp
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tsp sesame oil
  • 3 tsp soy sauce (I realize soy sauce isn’t “paleo”…but I’m using it anyway)
Directions
  1. heat up your pan and scramble your egg, then set aside
  2. put 1 tsp of sesame oil in pan and stir-fry up the shrimpies, then set aside
  3. put the shredded cauliflower, broccoli, and green onion in the pan with another tsp of sesame oil.  you’ll want to continually stir this so it doesn’t burn. I cooked it for about 3-4 minutes on medium.
  4. put the egg and the shrimpies back in the pan and add 2 tsp of soy sauce.
  5. continue to cook for a few more minutes and voila!  I added a final tsp of soy sauce on top of it all.  you may find you prefer to use a little more oil or soy sauce than I did.  you could also add garlic or red pepper or whatever else sounds good!
I would like to point out that I am NOT a fan of cauliflower, however this dish was quite tasty.  I think the soy sauce covered up that yucky bitter cauliflower taste.  In my book, it looked like rice, it tasted like fried rice, if I hadn’t made it myself…I would never guess this wasn’t fried rice.
Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

