What I’ve Been Reading…

Nothing like announcing a change to the format and then disappearing!  10 days later…I’m back.  I guess that’s not that long, but it’s probably one of the longest breaks from writing I’ve done this year.

So what have I been doing? Vacationing!  And what do I do on vacation?  Read!  We took a long weekend to Palm Springs last week (I know, I know – why would I do that, it’s so hot!!…but really it’s not that much hotter than CO and we basically lay around the pool all day and read and take naps…the PERFECT vay-cay).

The first book I read was Bossypants by Tina Fey.

I had just finished the Hunger Games trilogy which as much as I enjoyed them…they were a bit violent and I needed something light to start my vacation with and this was the perfect fit!  If you like 30 Rock and her sketches on SNL…then you’ll jump right into this book.  Easy fun read.

The second book was Untold Story by Monica Ali.

I was really looking forward to this book and it was just ok.  It’s kind of a “what if Princess Diana was alive and well and living in middle America”.  Well in this book, she’s kind of annoying and neurotic.  Maybe she was in real-life.  I preferred my sugar-coated princesses are perfect dreamland.  Eh.

The third book was Lost in Shangri-La by Mitchell Zuckoff.

This is a true story of a rescue mission during WWII in what is now Papua New Guinea.  I usually don’t like war books or really even anything in this time period…but it wasn’t your typical war book.  I thought it was absolutely fascinating.  Even though it’s non-fiction, it read like a novel.  Two thumbs up.

Next up: Moonwalking with Einstein by Joshua Foer.

Something to do with memory.  I have a horrible memory.  Sometimes it’s embarrassing how much I forget.  Maybe this will help?

As you can see, I have a pretty wide variety in tastes in books.  I’ll read almost anything.  Any suggestions?  I think I’ll need a novel after this one.  🙂

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Katie
    Jul 21, 2011 @ 15:41:36

    Great book picks! Of your list the only one I’ve read so far is Bossypants. It was light and a great read. Too bad about “The Untold Story” as I’m a huge Princess Di fan.

    Some books I’ve read, am reading, or are waiting in my cue to be read (not all novels, sorry):

    – Cutting for Stone/Abraham Verghese
    – How to be an American Housewife/Margaret Dilloway
    – Freedom/Jonathan Franzen
    – Seal Team Six
    – Traveling with Pomegranates
    – Sh*t My Dad says

    Have you read any of these yet?

    Reply

  2. Katie
    Jul 23, 2011 @ 23:54:56

    I hope you enjoy them. They’re all great books! I like that you include book picks and mini reviews in your blog! I’m always looking for suggestions. Since you’re a serial reader please keep us posted in future posts with what you’re reading and your review of it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

