Back on the Horse

Days 5-7 were great!  On plan and everything.

Days 8-12…life happened.  This last week did not go as planned.

Enter The Kiwi from Athletic Greens.  He wrote a blog post last week that fit me to a T.  You can read about it here, but let me give you the highlights that hit home for me.

He mentions 3 scenarios of unplanned cheat meals. I think all 3 scenarios happened to me last week.

  1. I got busy and forgot to eat.
  2. I got HANGRY. (hungry + angry)
  3. I ate out and did not care about the ingredients.

The solution for me is to be better prepared:

  • In a house with kids and guests visiting…I can’t always throw all the bad stuff out.  It’s there and I need to have PALEO ALTERNATIVES to choose from.  And variety too!  More than one alternative, just in case I can’t choke down one more hard boiled egg.
  • I need to EAT MORE OFTEN.  Like Kiwi says, eat before you go out.  So that I don’t ever get so hungry that I can’t say no to whatever is tempting me.
  • Always have snacks on hand – I try to keep a larabar in my purse at all times.  But I don’t always eat it.  EAT WHEN YOU’RE HUNGRY.
  • For me, I need to have a FREE MEAL ONCE/WEEK to look forward to.  Something that is planned.  Something that I don’t have to feel guilty about.
  • And most importantly to me – DON’T BEAT MYSELF UP.  I am very good at that one.  I have become consumed with being “good” vs. being “bad”.  And I don’t like it.

I think it’s in my best interest to put My Whole 30 on hold for right now.  I need to focus on the basics.  When I get the basics down again, I can focus on refining the details.

I was a little disappointed in myself for writing this…I saw it as failure.  I couldn’t hold myself to 30 freakin days?  But you know what?  I’m not going to beat myself up.  I’m not perfect.  I’m a work in progress, people.  I’m aiming high and I will get there.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Karen B.
    Jun 13, 2011 @ 13:50:39

    I think it’s obvious that you’re trying to fit your lifestyle into a diet instead of fitting a diet to your lifestyle. It’s just not working.
    I know how it feels, I do it all the time so I’m not trying to be critical, just making an observation.
    Hope you find some way that works for you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

