My Whole 30

Have you heard about Whole30?  It’s from the amazing people at Whole 9 Life and you can read about their Whole30 challenge here.  Basically it’s all about buckling down and doing a pretty strict version of the paleo diet.  I’m talking no dairy, no cheats, no… *gasp* alcohol.  To be honest, that last one is what is tripping me up.  And I know what they say – it’s only 30 days.  It’s not hard.  It’s never the right time – there will always be something to celebrate, or a vacation to be had, or even a rough day to console.  No one is forcing the wine down my gullet.  But it’s starting to feel like summer and a nice cold glass of pinot grigio sure tastes good.  And I’ve been sipping a couple glasses almost every day.  Actually, I’ve been making a lot of exceptions over the last 4-6 weeks.  So many exceptions that my cheats are no longer weekly cheats, but more like daily cheats.  My “free meals” turned into “free months”.

So it’s time to crack down.

Ahhh….but that no alcohol thing.  I’m not sure I’ve ever done 30 days sans some vino.  And I’m not sure I can adhere to the strict guidelines of the Whole30 – I can see if I ate at home every day, I could control the ingredients a little better.  But I don’t.  And I’m not prepared to eat dry salads because the salad dressing probably has sugar in it at whatever restaurant I go to.  I’ve become Miss Paleo around the house, but I don’t want to be “that” person at the restaurant.

And so instead of beating myself up over not eating as strictly as possible, I’ve decided to follow my own Whole 30.  I’m going to do the best I can but not get mental about it.  For me this means no dairy (buh-bye my beloved heavy whipping cream in my coffee), no diet coke (which I haven’t had on a daily basis, but I’ve chosen to have it at restaurants more frequently), no sugar (as best as I can – certainly not adding it in, but again, if a salad dressing has it, I’m not going to freak out), 1 piece of fruit every day, more water (75 oz/day), and no alcohol*.

I’ve been reading up on all sorts of different paleo blogs and seeing how other people handle free meals.  Some people just don’t do it.  That is certainly the idea behind Whole30.  One guy said he did 1 cheat meal & 1 cheat dessert every week – on different days.  Another girl said she has pre-scheduled 6 cheat meals during the month.  I think I need to find something in the middle that will be ok on my Whole30.  I’m still figuring it out, but I think Saturday nights will be my 1 free meal and *alcohol will be allowed.  1 or 2 glasses of wine will be ok with me.

In addition to eating a stricter diet, what I really want to focus on this month is more exercise.  I will go to Bar Method class 4-5 x’s/week.  I will walk the lake 4-5 x’s/week (this takes 40min – 1 hour).  I will do the 4 Hour Body kettlebell exercises 2x’s/week.  And I will do tabata sprints 1x/week.

Ambitious?  Yes.  Doable?  Yes.  I’ve put it out there, I’ve written it down, and I will keep myself accountable by updating my progress here.

Here we go!

 

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carsten
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 00:10:25

    OK, I have to ask: you’re using ready made salad dressing? That for sure was one of the first products that were gone from my food log. If you really mean to follow a paleo/primal style, you should get rid of those right away.

    Better keep the glas of whine than those high industry processed food.

    Reply

    • alisonreinvented
      Jun 03, 2011 @ 10:50:31

      Hi Carsten – I use homemade dressings at home. I’m not perfect though. For convenience, at a restaurant I will use whatever their vinaigrette is, on the side, drizzled on top (not drenched). I realize that a lot of people out there are way more strict than me and that’s why I’m calling this MY Whole 30. I’m choosing to be ok with the convenience of eating a meal out. I’m also choosing not to eat grains, bread, pasta, rice, legumes, etc even when we eat out or go to a family member’s house for dinner. In my world, the bigger picture of not eating grains is more important to me than occasionally allowing a little processed dressing on salad. 🙂

      Reply

  2. Karen B.
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 11:13:46

    I only by ranch dressing for the kids, otherwise I have made my own for many, many years. Bottled dressings just taste like chemicals to me and some of them taste like rancid oil or they used to anyway, haven’t had them in years. (I buy organic Hidden Valley Ranch for kids to dip veggies in, and I’ve tasted it, it’s Ok, not great, sugary, wouldn’t ruin a salad with it)
    I know a woman who carries a tiny bottle of olive oil around in her purse and asks for vinegar for her salads in restaurants, then uses her own olive oil.
    About alcohol. It won’t ruin your diet but you do have to count calories a bit if you plan to continue to drink it. I do drink alcohol and don’t want to give it up permanently so why bother now? I just make my calories during the day a little less to accommodate it and have at least 1 glass of wine or martini a night. I’m on a losing diet and I’m still losing. I guess you have to figure out how you plan to live your life, not just do a diet.
    It’s difficult for me to exercise too, I just like more cerebral activities most of which involve sitting. I’m trying too but it’s not easy!

    Reply

    • alisonreinvented
      Jun 05, 2011 @ 11:54:51

      LOL – that’s funny about the lady who carried her own bottle of olive oil! I’d hate for that to leak in my purse! What is your favorite homemade dressing recipe? And I agree about the alcohol, just trying to tone it down for a month. Congrats to you for still losing! (that sounded like a weird sentence, but you know what I mean) 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

