Farewell to the Brussel Sprout

The boyfriend is out of town so I’m a cheffing machine!  I spent most of the day looking up new recipes I want to try and have a few lined up that look really good!  I like to try new recipes when the BF is out of town so that I can taste-test it before him or if I mess up, I can run out real quick or find something around the house (sometimes that’s harder to do when there are 2 people, especially if we are starving).

So tonight I tried a new pork chop recipe with a side of brussel sprouts.

What was GREAT: the pork chops.  See recipe here from Everyday Paleo.  Super YUM and pretty quick to cook.  Definitely boyfriend-worthy.

What could be improved: the brussel sprouts.

Now granted, I don’t think I’ve had brussel sprouts since I was 5 and my mom made me sit at the dinner table until I had eaten one little sprout, which I pretended to choke down and then promptly spit out into a napkin.  I think a lot of people have had a similar experience with these little buggers.  But hey, I’m all growns up now and trying new things…which includes vegetables I’ve never tried (or haven’t tried since I was 5).  I’m not sure why I got it in my head that I should try brussel sprouts, but I did, so I did all my little recipe research and found a yummy looking recipe that involved balsamic vinegar, pine nuts and parmesan cheese.  The best part of this recipe was the pine nuts and parmesan.  I could’ve just eaten scoopfuls of just that and been happy.  In fact I did.  I pushed the brussel sprouts around on my plate like I was 5 years old again and just ate the good stuff.

The moral of the story – sometimes your tastes change…I’m now a fan of pork! And mustard…and scrambled eggs…and sweet potatoes…and many other things that I despised as a kid.  But sometimes your tastes don’t change.  There are so many options out there – don’t force yourself to eat foods you don’t like.  I didn’t like brussel sprouts then and I still don’t today.

How have your tastes changed?  Have you tried any new foods lately?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Karen B.
    May 27, 2011 @ 12:11:00

    I couldn’t eat cooked carrots as a kid, the texture made me gag. Now I love them. I love pretty much all veggies now, even brussels sprouts. I prefer my brussels sprouts boiled until soft, then cut in half (that way the insides aren’t watery), smothered in butter, salt and pepper. Yum. I’ll eat a bowl of them but I have to make them when the boys are out, they despise the smell.
    Mangoes are weird. First I hated them, then I loved them and now they taste like rotten meat to me for some reason. Must be hormonal.
    I never could take very strong flavors like onion and mustard until I went through my first pregnancy. Now I smother things in onions, cooked or raw and mustard.
    Now I’m getting hungry.

    Reply

    • alisonreinvented
      May 27, 2011 @ 15:21:52

      LOL! If I hadn’t just eaten lunch, I would probably be hungry too after reading all that! I think brussel sprouts are now permanently off my list. I do like mangoes, but my BF does not. He says they taste like armpits. Not sure how many armpits he’s tasted, but whatever. 🙂

      Reply

  2. heather
    May 27, 2011 @ 15:20:05

    Try them one last time – cut in half, toss with olive oil, add kosher salt and black pepper to taste — roast/bake at 350 for 30-45 minutes (until slightly browned and tender). They end up with a nutty, delicious flavor (to me and the 10 people I have “forced” them on LOL) that makes you wonder how you ever choked one down boiled.

    Reply

    • alisonreinvented
      May 27, 2011 @ 15:24:59

      the ones I had last night were oven roasted. 😦 and it wasn’t the balsamic flavor that I couldn’t choke down. It was the brussel sprout flavor. Give me a couple months, I might try them again… 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

