OMG…YUM!!

I just had to post this recipe – even though it’s not great for weight-loss, it is PERFECT for any chocolate cravings you may have.

You know those scrumptious chocolate lava cakes you find at restaurants, the ones with the melted middle?  This is the paleo version.  Found at my all-time favorite recipe blog Paleo Perfectly.  I love this chick.  I have yet to make something from her website that I don’t like.

Ingredients:

  • 3 eggs
  • 1/3 cup + 1 tablespoon cocoa powder (I wasn’t sure if the +1 T was for dusting?  I just put it in the bowl and dusted the muffin cups liberally…probably used a little more than 1T.)
  • 1/3 cup honey (she suggests agave or maple syrup or honey…I don’t always like agave, so went with honey this time, might try maple syrup next time.)
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil, melted
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 1/2 tsp coconut flour

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees.
  2. Grease muffin cups heavily, and dust with cocoa powder.
  3. In large bowl, beat eggs until light and fluffy.
  4. Mix in cocoa powder, honey, coconut oil, vanilla, and coconut flour. Mix until smooth.
  5. Pour into muffin cups and fill until 3/4 of the way full.
  6. Bake for 8 minutes or until the top just sets. (I did 9 minutes and wished I had taken it out at 8…not bad, but not as gooey as I wanted).
  7. Enjoy!
I should’ve put my hand in the picture to give some perspective.  This is a salad plate.  These are small muffin size cakes.  The recipe made 8 total.  I would like to point out that I did not have all 3 cakes…but I did eat 2!  I put the rest in the freezer…not sure how they will hold up, but this recipe is so easy that if they don’t, another batch is only 10 minutes away!
Leave a Reply

