I Have A Confession…

I stopped eating beans.

There I said it.  It’s been a couple weeks, probably most of March.  I just started hating them.  Hate is a strong word, but I think it is aptly used here.  They made me want to throw up.  I just couldn’t do it anymore.  I’m glad I started out with beans.  I think it helped me stay on track in the first 2 months.  Kept me full from meal to meal.  But eventually I had a few meals without beans and my stomach just felt better.  I adjusted to eating protein and veggies.

Seeing as beans are such a huge proponent of the 4HB…I’ve wondered if I’m still “on plan”?  The answer is yes.  I’m on plan.  My plan.  And my plan is ever-evolving.  Looking back at this blog will illustrate just that.  I’ve tried being strict, I’ve tried being relaxed, I’ve tried cold therapy, I’ve tried kettlebells, I’ve tried drinking wine and not drinking wine during the week.  I’ve been constantly tweaking this program every week.  And this is just one more tweak.

I’m coming up on the end of 12 weeks (!!!) on the 4HB and have started thinking about how I’m going to tweak it for the next month.  I’ve been learning more about Primal/Paleo diets lately.  And although they include fruits and sometimes even some dairy in their plans, protein and vegetables are the main ingredients.  It seems like a logical next step for me.  I’m still working out all the differences between the programs and will most likely do some sort of combination of the three.  There are things I like about 4HB and there are things I like about Primal Blueprint and there are things I like about the Paleo diet.  I’m picking and choosing what works for me.  Like I have all along.  🙂

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rsgrice
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 21:19:04

    Wise path, getting locked into the dogma is bad for you.

    Reply

  2. Laura
    Mar 27, 2011 @ 02:14:12

    Hey Allison – I dropped the beans as well, and now I’d say my eating plan is more like the Primal Blueprint. . I’d say my diet is 80% meat, eggs, and veggies + some healthy oils, almonds, 1 piece of low GI fruit on most but not all days, and occasionally some Green & Blacks 85% dark chocolate or cheese with my eggs. It’s only been about 2 weeks, but I feel less “weighed down” from all the beans and much more energetic despite the drop in carbs. It’s also the first time the scale, measuring tape has moved in over a month. The one thing I question is whether a cheat day is still beneficial. Are you still sticking with that?

    Reply

    • alisonreinvented
      Mar 27, 2011 @ 10:33:56

      You read my mind Laura! That is my next post – primal blueprint/paleo! In March I pretty much ate this way and had one full out cheat day per week. In April I think I will tone it down a bit and do one cheat meal per week. Also after doing some more research, I’m not sure cheat day actually works for me personally due to a thyroid issue I have (Hashimoto’s). If I’m understanding it correctly, the spike doesn’t do what it’s supposed to do for people on thyroid medication. But it sure has been fun! And has helped me stick with this for so long. Let me know how it goes for you!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

