WWTFD

I was a big talker on Monday.  Woke up on Tuesday with the world’s worst sore throat.  I tried to stay on plan but by that night I just had to do something.  After endless cups of hot water and lemon, I went for a cough drop.  Those are just little drops of sugar I know…but it also numbed my throat.  After a restless night, I went to Urgent Care.  The diagnosis – strep throat.  I don’t even know if I’ve ever had strep throat in my life?!  Certainly not since I was a kid!

I was trying to be so good this week!  But by this point, I couldn’t even swallow water.  What Would Tim Ferriss Do???

Well I’m pretty sure that guy doesn’t even get sick and if he did, he probably has some super-secret strep throat deactivator.  At the very least he would probably drink protein shakes and sip some chicken broth.

Yeah.  That didn’t happen.  I don’t think I did too bad, but I figure when you’re sick, you need to focus on getting better.  You gotta do what you gotta do.  And when I get sick, I just want to do whatever I know works for me.  That said, this week I had an abundance of chicken noodle soup, gatorade, 7Up and popsicles.  One night I even had full on ice cream *gasp*!  I only went to Bar Method twice this week (instead of my normal 3 x’s), I did zero kettleballs or ab work, no cold packs, and to be honest, hardly any water.  And you know what?  I STILL lost weight and inches this week!  I didn’t make my Monday goals, but I did pretty damn good anyway.

I lost -.4 lbs this week (according to yesterday’s weight, the loss was 1.2 lbs….but I’m sticking with my Saturday weigh-in #s).  I also lost 2.75″ overall.  That means this week I did better than last week!  What?!  So I guess slipping up here and there isn’t a deal-breaker for weight loss.

This is the end of 8 weeks for me.  My grand totals are 7.6 lbs lost and 25.45″ lost.  25″?!?!!?  That is CRAZY!!!

I think this week gave me a reset button.  I’ve been concentrating on doing a little bit of everything that has been suggested and not thinking about what is actually working for me.  150 oz of water is not working for me anymore.  Cold packs didn’t seem to make a difference.  Do I have to eat all those beans?  Hm…something to think about.  I’ll come up with my March plan this weekend and share next week.  I’m feeling better and plan on enjoying my Free Day and the weekend – I hope you do too! 🙂

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Learnedly Bond
    Feb 26, 2011 @ 14:43:43

    Allison:
    Good to see some other people succeeding on the SCD. I’m five weeks in and have lost 18 pounds and 5 inches off my waist. Also, I’ve linked a forum which is pretty active and has some good advice.
    http://www.4hbtalk.com/viewforum.php?f=5

    Cheers
    Learnedly Bond

    Reply

  2. SlowCarbVegan
    Feb 27, 2011 @ 18:21:05

    Wow, congratulations….. 25″ is quite a lot to lose. I’m only just beginning my measurements on week 3. I can’t wait to make it to -10 lbs. So far I’ve lost about 3.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

