Lentil Soup With Beef

It’s a cold, snowy day today and I thought what’s better than to share a yummy 4HB-friendly recipe!  This one is from the Food Network and Giada De Laurentis.  I don’t know much about her other than she always seems to have scrumptious-looking food on her tv shows.  This is my first attempt at one of her recipes and it was a SUCCESS!  The original recipe can be found here: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/giada-de-laurentiis/lentil-soup-with-beef-recipe/index.html

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 1/2 lbs boneless stew meat, cut into 1-inch cubes
  • Salt and black pepper
  • 3 large celery stalks, chopped
  • 2 large carrots, peeled and chopped
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 6 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons chopped fresh rosemary leaves
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons dried oregano
  • 6 (14-ounce) cans beef broth
  • 1 (28-ounce) can diced tomatoes in juice (I used crushed tomatoes)
  • 2 cups (about 11 ounces) lentils, rinsed
  • 1/3 cup chopped fresh Italian parsley leaves

Heat the oil in large pot over medium-high heat. Sprinkle the beef with salt and pepper. Add half of the beef and cook until brown, about 8 minutes. Transfer the beef to a bowl. Repeat with the remaining beef. Add the celery, carrots, onion, garlic, rosemary, and oregano to the pot. Saute until the onions about 8 minutes. Return the beef and any accumulated juices from the bowl to the pot. Add the broth and tomatoes with their juice. Bring the soup to a boil. Reduce the heat to medium-low. Cover and simmer until the meat is just tender, stirring occasionally, about 1 hour. Add the lentils. Cover and continue simmering until the lentils are tender, about 40 minutes. Stir in the parsley. Season the soup, to taste, with salt and pepper and ENJOY!

This made about 8 servings for me and I froze them in individual tupperware for easy lunches – just add a salad for a complete meal!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laura
    Feb 12, 2011 @ 19:46:25

    I just came across your site today, but coincidentally, I made this same recipe last week. I found that the lentils took about 2 hrs to get soft in the soup, so by the time they were soft it was a bit more like a stew than a soup. Just wondering if you had the same issue? Next time I may try precooking them or adding more water.

    Reply

    • alisonreinvented
      Feb 13, 2011 @ 12:44:03

      Hi Laura – how funny…I came across YOUR blog just today before I read this comment! Personally I like my lentils a little “al dente”. Also this soup/stew made so many servings that I froze most of it in individual servings and when I reheat it the lentils soften even more. I’m looking forward to trying some of your recipes! I wish I liked pork…that picture of slow roasted pork shoulder looks amazing!!

      Reply

  2. Laura
    Feb 14, 2011 @ 02:50:36

    I’m normally not a big fan of pork either, but I’ll eat it on occasion. I have a recipe for slow roasted lamb as well -though that’s another type of meat some people just aren’t into. Looking forward to sharing more recipes with you, and congrats on fitting back into your jeans!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

