Talladega Nights

“Dear Eight Pound, Six Ounce, Newborn Baby Jesus, in your golden, fleece diapers, with your curled-up, fat, balled-up little fists pawin’ at the air…”

Yeah, I quoted Talladega Nights.  And like Ricky Bobby, I like the baby version the best.  This was pretty much the prayer I said while I was doing my first 4HB workout.

I put it off all day.  Today we had beyond freezing temperatures…we never hit 0 today.  And so the plan was to stay indoors all day, which I did.  I was going to try my 4HB workout this morning, but started cooking instead.  And I ended up cooking all day – I now have probably 2 weeks worth of meals.  (I’ll share some yummy recipes in future posts!)

But back to working out…I’ve been going to the Bar Method for almost a year now, approximately 3 times per week.  According to the Bar Method website (www.barmethod.com): “The Bar Method integrates the fat-burning format of interval training with muscle-shaping isometrics to quickly and safely reshape the entire body. Its non-impact, one-hour workout targets all major muscle groups and improves posture. The result is a recognizable “Bar Method body” featuring sculpted arms, flat abs, a lifted seat, and elongated thighs.”  So you see, I thought my Bar Method Bootie would barely be affected by a simple kettlebell swing.  WRONG.

These are the exercises I did:

  1. Hip flexor stretches – 30 seconds each side.  Easy peasy.  We do this in class every day.
  2. Kettlebell Swings.  I knew I would have to take the 75 swings in chunks.  The first 20 were hard.  The next 20 my legs felt like jello.  Like I sometimes feel after an hour long Bar Method class.  During this 20, I negotiated with myself how I was going to attack the last 35 swings.  I didn’t think I could do another 20 in a row so I thought I would do 15, 15, and 5.  But after I finished that 2nd set of 20, and sat on the floor breathing like I just ran a quick mile or 10, and with the sweat dripping down my face, I realized that 15, 15, 5 was not going to happen.  I did 10.  50 total swings @ 25#’s.  I don’t think that’s horrible.  And now I have something to work up to.
  3. Myotic Crunches – I did 10 sets of lowering for 4 counts, pausing for 2 counts, and raising for 2 counts.  Challenging, but not too bad.
  4. Cat Vomit (man, I wish this was called something else) – I did 10 of these for 10 counts each.  Actually…I did 5, rested, and then did the last 5.  I thought these were going to be easy, but they were actually harder than I thought.
  5. Last but not least…planks.  Planks are my personal nemesis.  I hate them.  But I sooooo want to be able to rock them.  I usually end up doing the cheater method which is plank on your knees (or 1 knee if doing the side plank).  Today I did Big Girl Planks.  On my feet.  I did what I believe is a record for myself – 30 seconds on the front and 30 seconds on each side.  This is where the Talladega Nights prayer came in handy.

Total time spent – 15 minutes.

I am now icing my upper shoulders and it’s never felt so good!

….I hope I can walk tomorrow….

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Nick Momrik
    Feb 03, 2011 @ 23:00:39

    Nice work with the swings. They are much harder than you would expect and do get easier each week.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

