2nd Verse, Same as the 1st

This is the start of my 2nd month on the slow carb diet/4HB.  My blog goal is to focus on different things each month – suggestions welcome!  In January I was focused on cutting carbs/fruit and eating as outlined in the 4HB.  I wasn’t super strict with dressings/sauces – as long as I was having a protein, veggie, and legumes.

This month I’m going to keep it up, get a little more strict, add some exercises, and try the cold therapy/ice water.  I read somewhere that the ice water is KEY.  I’m on day 2 of brain freeze upon waking, but I’m doing it.  I forgot to use an ice pack on my shoulders last night…but I WILL remember tonight.  Or I’ll just go outside – our low tonight is supposed to be around -1* (Hello Arctic Blast).  Or….I’ll stick with an ice pack.

If anyone out there has their own 4HB blogs, please send me your link!  I’ve become addicted to looking up other people’s blogs and following their progress – I’ve learned so much from other blogs and I feel like it’s kind of like a virtual support group.

If you are on Facebook, I HIGHLY suggest checking out: http://www.facebook.com/4HBParticipants This group has provided me with so many answers and support and in general I think of them as my personal cheerleaders 🙂  Another group I just joined this last week is: http://www.facebook.com/home.php?sk=group_103604729716668 which is the Tim Ferriss 4HB Discussion Group.  I believe this is a newer group, but just as welcoming.  Are there any other groups on FB that you are a part of?  Let me know!

Here’s to continued progress!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carsten
    Jan 31, 2011 @ 12:44:37

    I’m always wondering if people really take ice bath or cold showers… I don’t see it as a good way to increase *any* positive effects. You should read http://www.burnthefatblog.com/archives/2010/01/cold_weather_weight_loss.php before you jump into that cold bathtub…

    I think it’s the same argument that comes with “exercise to burn more calories”. And if you actually pay attention how much 30min of treadmill burns, you’ll stop it right away and just skip dessert. 😉

    As for the blog links, you can get mine from this comment. 🙂

    Reply

    • alisonreinvented
      Jan 31, 2011 @ 17:29:18

      Thanks for the link(s) – I’ll check them out!
      I think with anything you have to find what works for you and for as many people who think jumping in a cold shower is insane, I think there are also people out there who swear it works. I’m just trying to find my way. And my way will NOT include an ice bath thank you very much 😉 Right now I’m just talking ice water in the morning and a cold pack on my shoulders at night. I’ll see how I do with that. 🙂

      Reply

    • Nick Momrik
      Feb 03, 2011 @ 23:02:37

      There are other reasons to get on the treadmill besides trying to lose weight. Working up a sweat is good for your heart and health.

      Reply

  2. Suzie
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 06:44:45

    Good luck, Alison! I’m over at awasteofawaist.wordpress.com 🙂

    Reply

    • alisonreinvented
      Feb 01, 2011 @ 10:19:54

      Thanks Suzie – I’m already following you! and LOVE that you had mac & cheese on your last binge day….YUM!

      Reply

      • Suzie
        Feb 01, 2011 @ 20:49:59

        I highly recommend it! I also highly recommend cleaning out your cabinet before blowing all your $$ on restaurants for binge day. Mac ‘n Cheese has always been one of my favorites (especially the ones with dinosaur shapes :P).

Leave a Reply

