Week 3 Roundup

Just a quick post to let you know my week-end totals.  I have to weigh in a day early because I’m visiting a friend and won’t have my trusty scale with me.

Lbs lost this week – ZERO 😦 ….grand total is still 5 lbs lost.

Inches lost this week – 5!!!  ….bringing my grand total of inches lost to 10.75!!!

Although I’m THRILLED with the inches lost, I admit, I’m disappointed in the number on the scale.  If it’s not too much information for ya, I’d like to point out that I had my period this week, so last week I was a little out of whack too.  I think that time of the month is something that us girls need to really consider.  I’m pretty sure Tim Ferriss even mentioned it in the book.  And maybe with 2 weeks out of whack, next week will be a big weight loss week?

While we’re on personal subjects, I’m just going to bring this up too.  I know I’m not the only one.  But I’m just not as regular as I was before I started eating this way.  I’m not sure what the solution is either?  You’d think with all these legumes I’d be set.  I have not taken the PAGG stack at all and am now considering it for month 2…will it make a difference in this department?

As far as what I’ve eaten this week – I kept it pretty simple.  A protein shake in the morning, either eggs, spinach, and black beans for lunch or a salad w/ a protein and bean soup for lunch.  Dinner has been a protein (chicken or steak…I even tried shrimp this week) and broccoli and bean soup.

If you have any thoughts or suggestions, please send them my way!  I’d love to hear about your successes and also what has pushed you through your plateaus!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Leanne
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 14:15:35

    Alison, a 5 inch loss is bananas! 10.75 inches gone in three weeks? Also totally bananas! Just think, you may have put on muscle this week, which could account for the stagnant weight but reduced inches.

    I don’t know that the PAGG stack will help with the “outflow” issues. So, what is the problem, exactly? Is it firm or loose? I thought mine might firm up more, but not so. Very, very loose. Which isn’t right and sometimes uncomfortable.

    My idea: our guts are probably bereft of good bacteria. Some probiotics are in order to properly process (like that alliteration? haha!) the food in the gut, the second brain. Since we aren’t eating yogurt or kefir – and not likely to on cheat day since we’re usually desperate for some pasta, a cake, an entire loaf of bread (ha!), we probably aren’t eating up some nice plain old fashioned yogurt.

    The solution: old fashioned “pickled” veggies like sauerkraut, fermented pickles, fermented veggies, kimchi… It’s easy as falling down. I think I should write an article or two on the process of ferments and their benefits.

    BTW, store bought sauerkraut, etc will not be probiotic, unless you buy at a specialty store. I think the Zukay brand is in the US and could possibly be gotten at Whole Foods or Trader Joe’s or the like.

    Reply

    • alisonreinvented
      Jan 22, 2011 @ 18:15:25

      Thanks for the encouragement Leanne! I should qualify that I measure at my neck, shoulders, chest, waist, hips, each bicep & forearm, and each thigh & calf. I’m not sure everyone measures both sides…but hey, sometimes one leg is bigger than the other! I really appreciate your comments and I did not know that saurkraut/kimchi (sp?) were probiotic! Learn something new every day. I don’t feel bad or anything, just not as frequent as I used to be when I had fruit every day. I will give your suggestions a try this week! Thanks again!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

