eating without abandon

This weekend was my first Cheat Day!  Woot woot!  🙂

Friday night I went to the grocery store and picked up a few things that had been on my “cheat” list all week.  Specifically donuts and gummy bears and clementines.  When I woke up in the morning I was almost scared to eat!  I didn’t want to mess up my progress but I know calorie blasting is part of the plan.  So I get a donut out, the chocolate had melted off in the night and not wanting to miss out on a single calorie, I scraped it back on.  It was one of those eclair like donuts with chocolate frosting and vanilla pudding in the middle.  As I’m eating it, it’s good, but it’s not super-fantastic-magical like I thought it would be.  Once I’m done, I’m stuffed.  Eventually I move on to a couple clementines and my usual coffee (tried it with cinnamon…not bad).  Later in the day, as I was getting a snack together my ever-supportive boyfriend says “I hope its crappy!” 🙂  I love that man.

At the end of the day besides the donut and the clementines I manage to stuff in 1/2 bagel with cream cheese, chips and queso (a lot of queso), ravioli AND spaghetti (why choose one?) in vodka sauce, garlic bread, and a dessert of gummy worms and what the heck, another donut.

I can honestly say this was the first time probably in my life that I ate without abandon.  Usually I would think to myself, “oh I can’t have that”…or “I shouldn’t have too much”…”just one”.  Or feel guilty if I crossed any of those thoughts.

Instead, during my first cheat day I actually thought – am I spiking my calories enough?  Yes.  Yes I did.  🙂  I felt sick to my stomach, was full before I finished anything, and was more than happy to go back to the slow carbs.

At the end of the week (before my cheat day) I think I’ve done well.  4 lbs lost!  I’ll take it!  4.95″ lost overall.  Even better!  Mental confidence that I can do this – priceless.

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. James Dixson
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 11:20:16

    http://www.paunchiness.com/counting-calories-sucks-the-cheat-day/

    The cheat day rocks. One of my friends made fun of me on facebook for choosing McDonald’s but it’s an eat what you crave day and I wanted some delicious cheeseburgers. Keep up the good work. This stuff really does work. I’ve lost 70lbs since April 2010.

    -James

    Reply

Leave a Reply

