the first post is the hardest…

How do I explain all that I want to do here?  Basically it’s the first week of 2011 and I want to do new things and be a better person in all aspects of my life.  The best way to hold myself accountable is to write it all down.  So here I go!

I’m taking January to focus on health and wellness.  The end of last year I found out that I not only have high blood pressure but I also have a thyroid condition.  Doctors orders – pills.  I may not have any control over the thyroid condition (something I was born with and doctors say I will just have to take the pill to make sure it functions properly)…but I do have some control over the blood pressure.  Diet & exercise.

Exercise – I’ve been taking The Bar Method class for about 9 months now…and I absolutely LOVE it.  I was a gym rat in November and December logging in countless hours on the treadmill and elliptical…and I absolutely HATE it.  So in January I’m going with… the do what you love theory.  And that’s the Bar Method.  I’m committing to 3 classes/week this month.

Diet – I read Tim Ferriss’ 4 Hour Body over the holidays and I’m 5 days in on the slow carb diet.  He claims one can lose 2o lbs in 4 weeks.  If I did even HALF of that, I would be a happy camper.  In 5 days I’ve lost 3 lbs.  Not bad!

There are a lot of things I would like to accomplish this year.  I’m hoping this blog will help me figure out what those things are, monitor my progress, and keep me (and whoever else reads this!) entertained along the way.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. greenytiger
    Jan 06, 2011 @ 19:16:27

    I’ve lost 5lbs in 3 days on the slow carb diet too. Also, I’m considering taking the bar method classes? What do you like about them? I have a friend that loves them, but I want more than one opinion before I drop that kind of money.

    Thanks and good luck!

    Reply

    • alisonreinvented
      Jan 07, 2011 @ 10:59:56

      Hi greenytiger!
      I love love LOVE the Bar Method. It is the only form of exercise I’ve stuck to for an extended period of time. I’ve been going for 9 months now, about 3 times per week. Sometimes I’ll only make it twice a week, but other times, I’ll get there 4 or 5 times in a week. You can make the class as hard as you want (different weights, girl pushups vs real pushups, and they have different options if you have injuries.) Everyone is friendly and encouraging. I am more flexible than ever! But most importantly, it has truly changed the shape of my body. I think the biggest testament is my jeans size. I started at a 10/12 and I’m now at an 8, and even own a couple pairs of 6’s now! It is more expensive than the regular gym, but I’m also seeing way more results than all my time at the gym. The studio I go to has new enrollment specials (unlimited classes for X per month) and that’s how I got hooked.
      Thanks for reading and good luck to you as well! 🙂 A

      Reply

Leave a Reply

