Happy National Donut Day!

June 1st is National Donut Day!!!

Are you thinking Dunkin Donuts?  Krispy Kreme?  What about Winchells – do those even still exist?  How about good ol fashioned Hostess powdered?

Are you drooling yet?  Cuz I kinda am.

I wouldn’t say no to a Krispy Kreme one day in the future as a treat, but it simply isn’t available to me.  I live in Boulder where there are no donut shops.  None.  Nada.  Zilch.  And I’ve looked.  If there is one, do tell.  But I have not found one.  Sure there are some in Denver or some other driveable distance from me.  But I like my Boulder bubble and I’m not driving 30 min – an hour for a donut.

And let’s get real.  I’m trying to be healthy here.  Donuts just aren’t on my kinda meal plan.  They certainly aren’t paleo!

Or can they be…..?

I’m here to let you know that on National Donut Day you too can celebrate!

Go get yourself a donut pan – I got one from Target for cheap, but here’s one from Amazon.

I found this awesome recipe for donuts from Multiply Delicious and the frosting is from The Clothes Make the Girl – both are awesome blogs that I highly recommend.

The recipe below yields 6 yummy donuts.

Donut Ingredients:

  • 5 pitted medjool dates
  • 1/2 T vanilla
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/4 cup coconut flour
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/8 tsp baking soda
  • 2 1/2 T cacao powder
  • 1/4 cup melted coconut oil

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350*
  2. Grease donut pan w/ cooking spray (I used a coconut spray)
  3. Put pitted dates + 1 T of water in a bowl and microwave for 30 seconds
  4. Remove and add another tablespoon of water and mash it all up into a paste
  5. Mix date paste, vanilla, and eggs
  6. Add coconut flour, cinnamon, salt, baking soda, cacao powder and melted coconut oil
  7. Once it’s all smooth and combined you can pour it into the donut pan about 2/3 full
  8. Bake for 15-20 minutes
  9. Then let it cool and move on to making the frosting!

Frosting Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup coconut butter
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil
  • 1/2 T honey
  • 1 T maple syrup
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Directions:

  1. Put coconut butter and coconut oil in a bowl and microwave – watch carefully though – you only want to soften, not melt.  I have yet to master this step, so I usually melt it and go on to step 2.
  2. Add honey, maple syrup, and vanilla
  3. Mix it all up until it’s nice and fluffy.  This usually doesn’t happen for me because I have accidentally melted the butter and oil.  So I mix it all up and either let it sit on the counter or put it in the fridge until it’s a frosting-like consistency.  You will probably have too much frosting, in which case I recommend making the delicious Paleo Pumpkin Gingerbread Cake that the frosting recipe is from….I made those for Thanksgiving last year….YUM!

So now you have some cooled down donuts to frost away and enjoy!  I like to put them in the fridge to really get the frosting to set. I’ve also frozen them to enjoy later.  Wrap them individually in aluminum foil and take them out the night before you want to eat them and store them in the fridge.  I did not have much luck microwaving them from frozen – the frosting just melted and it kinda all crumbled.  So have a little patience and thaw them out in the fridge.

And like with regular donuts – this is a treat, not something I have everyday.  So I enjoy every single bite!

Happy National Donut Day!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Melissa Joulwan (@melicious11)
    Jun 04, 2012 @ 12:57:21

    I love that you found a nutritious way to celebrate donut day. RIGHT ON! Thanks for the shoutout to my frosting — so glad to be a tiny part of your celebration.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

